Canadian Grand Prix Qualifying: Lewis claims pole position in Montreal

Lewis Hamilton secured his pole position going into the Canadian Grand Prix after edging out teammate Nico Rosberg in qualifying. It is Lewis fifth pole in Montreal and the 53rd of his career, taking a provisional pole of 1:12.812 on his first lap in Q3, six-hundredths faster than his team mate Nico Rosberg. The German still managed to secure second place despite locking his front right into turn 1 on his second flying lap.


During Q2 Toro Rosso driver Carlos Sainz was the first victim of the Wall of Champion as he crashed into the wall and was declared out but did mention “If there’s a wall you don’t mind hitting, it’s the wall of champions.” But it’s still not a good feeling.”

Following an early end to the third practice session, after Kevin Magnussen crash into the Turn Seven wall, the driver was out of qualifying after his team decided to replace his chassis. His teammate Jolyon Palmer was out in Q1 after a yellow flag halted his fastest lap after Rio Haryanro crashed his Manor into the barriers and is now expected to start 17th place on the grid tomorrow.


Sebastian Vettel just about brushed the wall of champions during Q3 and took third place behind Mercedes by less than two tenths for Ferrari. No doubt Vettel remains optimistic for today’s race as Ferrari new turbo upgrades are proving to be effective. Red Bull were not far off either as Daniel Riccardo is in 4th position ahead of teammate Max Verstappen even though he slightly hit the wall of champions he still managed to beat Verstappen by two tenths.


Qualifying results

1. Lewis Hamilton             Mercedes

2. Nico Rosberg               Mercedes

3. Sebastian Vettel           Ferrari

4. Daniel Ricciardo           Red Bull Racing

5. Max Verstappe             Red Bull Racing

6. Kimi Räikkönen            Ferrari

7. Valtteri Bottas              Williams

8. Felipe Massa               Williams

9. Nico Hulkenberg           Force India

10. Fernando Alonso         McLaren

11. Sergio Perez               Force India Mercedes

12. Jenson Button             McLaren Honda

13. Daniil Kvyat                Toro Rosso Ferrari

14. Esteban Gutierrez       Haas Ferrari

15. Romain Grosjean        Haas Ferrari

16. Carlos Sainz              Toro Rosso Ferrari

17. Jolyon Palmer            Renault                                

18. Pascal Wehrlein        MRT Mercedes                                

19. Marcus Ericsson       Sauber Ferrari                                  

20. Felipe Nasr               Sauber Ferrari                                   

21. Rio Haryanto             MRT Mercedes